Thursday, April 06, 2006

RASCAL FLATTS MUST DIE

I hate these idiots, I really, really do. Sad thing is, I met them a couple of years ago, before they really had any songs out, and they were such nice guys. So it's such a shame that they SUCK SO MUCH. Here's a quote from their singer (who renamed himself "The Voice", lest you think he's not really a raging egoholic):

"It's win-win for everybody. I think country music people are too hard on saying what's country and what's not country."

Oh really? "Too hard"?? How about "too logical" or "too sane"?? Is there such a thing?! Listen jackass, country music evolves, and that's something traditionalists like myself can deal with. Joe Nichols has brand new music out and it sounds country. Blake Shelton, same. But what you are doing HAS NO ELEMENT OF COUNTRY MUSIC and it needs to be jettisoned off the face of the planet. Okay, not the planet -- but off country radio. How hard it that to understand?

I hate you but at least I'd respect you if you just said "Yes, we know our music isn't country. We wish country radio would ignore us and pop radio would embrace us." Now THAT would be a "win-win", Mr. Voice.